Darksiders – Timeline Guide

Darksiders - Timeline Guide
Darksiders - Timeline Guide

I tried to summarize the confusing plot of Darksiders in a few words. Obviously the guide contains substantial spoilers on All Three Chapters of the franchise.

Timelime (Spoilers)

Click to enlarge…

Abbadon destroys the Six Seals, than reforge them with the help of Azrael and Ulthane, then during the apocalypse on Earth Hell arrives and fights Heaven.

Only War gets the Call from the Seals destruction and, sometime later that the battle has begun, he arrives with a sort of teleportation on Earth.

Straga, the strongest of the Chosens, kills the Angel Abbadon who later talks to Lilith becoming the Demon who will be known as the Destroyer.

Straga defeats War who then goes to The Charred Council where is judged for having caused the apocalypse before the destruction of the Seals.

At this moment begins the Death’s journey to Crow Father with the aim to make up for the error of his brother by restoring humanity.

After that Death discovers from Crow Father that the way to restore humanity is to go to the Tree of Life, he kills him with his sickle.

Death is teleported by the Crow Father in front of a Maker, who reveals that the Tree of Life has been infected by the Corruption.

Death meets Ulthane.

After Death has entered the Tree, he discovers that Absalon, his dead brother, is the Avatar of the Corruption.

Death arrives in the City of the deads where he speaks with the Dead King who explains him that he must beat the Wealing Host to set free the Mankind’s souls.

After having beaten this Cthulhu-like demon, Death speaks with the spirit of the Crow Father and realizes that his mission is not yet done and that he must get 2 Keys: one from the Angels and one from the Demons.

Deaths defeating the Samael of the past and Archon getting the Keys.

Strife started some kind of mission but we do not know where.

Sometime later the beginning of Death’s quest, the Seven Deadly Sins are unleashed by the Charred Council.

Then the Charred Council calls Fury to capture all the Sins with a Female-Watcher that is actually Envy.

Anyway, we still do not know if Envy cooperated with the Council to drive Fury to all the Sins or if she just has deceived them changing her appearance

Fury meets War in chains in front of the Council. This is also the first time we see more than a Horseman in the same shot.

Fury meets Ulthane.

Decades later (I guess), War arrives on Earth with the Watcher.

War meets Samael and fights the Chosen Tiamat as well as Griever.

Fury discovers from the Lord of the Hollows and Abraxis that a conspiracy is menacing Humanity and (we do not know why) that now they are dread from Hell, Heaven and Charred Council.

Sometime later Envy goes to fight the Council.

Fury defeats Envy and destroys the Charred Council.

Strife, who turns out to be Jones, fights against the Destroyer and his Army with two Makers.

Fury after talking with Ulthane becomes the protectress of the Mankind and then enters the portal to go somewhere, for protecting the humans.

War meets Ulthane.

War fights the Stygian and Silitha.

War meets Azrael and finally fights against Straga, killing him.

War gets teleported by Azrael into The Garden of Eden and discovers that The Destroyer is Abbadon.

While Death rises again humanity after having defeated Absalon, War kills The Destroyer and is killed, in turn, by Uriel.

At last, Uriel destroys the Seventh Seal resurrecting War and the Horsemen receive the call.

Helena Stamatina
About Helena Stamatina 2715 Articles
My first game was Naughty Dog’s Crash Bandicoot (PlayStation) back in 1996. And since then gaming has been my main hobby. I turned my passion for gaming into a job by starting my first geek blog in 2009. When I’m not working on the site, I play mostly on my PlayStation. But I also love outdoor activities and especially skiing.


  1. It’s pretty clear that the events of DS 3 take place before all of DS 1, other than the prologue, of course. The end of 3had the Destroyer conquering Earth. When War arrives on Earth, the Destroyer had already conquered it long ago. Plus, the Black Throne is being constructed in the Scar during DS 3.

    I don’t think Fury destroys the Charred Council. She just uses the amulet to fend off their attack.

    What’s unclear is when the events of DS 2 take place. Obviously they begin after the DS 1 prologue and end before the end of DS 1. But that covers a over hundred years. Does the whole game take that long? Does it not start until just before the majority of DS 1? Or, since it makes place in other realms, does Death somehow effectively travel through time (as a byproduct of traveling through space)?

    Regardless, by the time Death goes to Earth in DS 2, the Destroyer has conquered it so by then at least it is post DS 3. Uriel does not mention having seen War to Death (which you think she would, if she had seen him) so that either takes place before War returns to Earth at all or while War is on Earth but before he met Uriel.

    So most of DS 2 must take place before most of DS 1. The problem is that in the end of DS 2, humanity gets resurrected. But War never sees a living human during DS 1 (aside from the prologue). So the end of DS 2 must happen towards the end of DS 1, while War is fighting the Destroyer (and thus not near any place where humans would be).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.