Borderlands – Series in Order of Playing

Wondering how to play Borderlands games in the right order? Follow this guide.

If you feel confused, this guide will help you with the right order of playing Borderlands games.

Games in Order

Note: Credit goes to LUST

  1. Borderlands
  2. Borderlands 2
  3. Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
  4. Tales from the Borderlands
  5. Borderlands 3


The Pre-Sequel mostly takes place in-between Borderlands and Borderlands 2. Reason why you should play Borderlands 2 first, is because The Pre-Sequel’s introduction and ending take place after Borderlands 2. Much of the game is told through flashbacks to before BL2, but it has spoilers for Borderlands 2, especially during the intro and its conclusion. Dialogue also contains spoilers for the events of Borderlands 2.

You don’t need to play Tales from the Borderlands before Borderlands 3. But it helps. Tales from the Borderlands takes place after BL2, but before BL3. There are events in Tales from the Borderlands that will come up in Borderlands 3.

Helena Stamatina
About Helena Stamatina 2730 Articles
My first game was Naughty Dog’s Crash Bandicoot (PlayStation) back in 1996. And since then gaming has been my main hobby. I turned my passion for gaming into a job by starting my first geek blog in 2009. When I’m not working on the site, I play mostly on my PlayStation. But I also love outdoor activities and especially skiing.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.